No-Poo: Alternative to Traditional Shampoo

White-VinegarI don’t shampoo my hair. I know. You are thinking I must be crazy. But it is true. I haven’t shampooed my hair in over 2 years. While we were living in Taiwan a friend introduced me to the idea of using an alternative method to clean and condition my hair. Skeptical at first, I decided to give it a try. After all, I was living in a place where, just by the fact that I have curl hair and light skin, people stared at me on the street. If it was a total disaster I just wouldn’t take pictures of myself during my experiment. That was over 2 years ago and I am so glad I made the switch. Not only does this save me money, but my hair is actually healthier and growing faster than ever before. So the big secret… baking soda and vinegar. Yep, I wash my hair with baking soda and vinegar. It saves me a lot of money in shampoo and conditioner costs, as well baking_soda4x3___484x363as in styling product costs. I have very curly hair (my stylist described it as “ethnic” but actually I am just got all the Irish genes in the family). Using baking soda and vinegar to cleanse and condition my hair has actually reduced the frizz and lets me us much less mousse or spray gel to get the style I want, which saves money.

So, how do you do this? The “recipe” is simple. Keep a plastic measuring cup in the shower. Add 1 tablespoon of baking soda to 1 cup of water. (For those science nerds like myself, this will produce an alkaline solution that also results in cooler water than what you put in). Pour that over your head and massage into your scalp just like you do for shampoo. I usually comb through tangles at this stage too. Rinse with water. Then add 1 tablespoon of vinegar (you can use any type but I tend to prefer cider vinegar) to 1 cup of water. Pour this over your head and comb through. (Again for you science geeks, the vinegar neutralizes the pH of your head because it is acidic and you turned your hair basic with the baking soda). Rise. Dry and style as usual.

A few tips: I keep baking soda in an air & water tight canister in the shower and vinegar in a reused creamer bottle. I don’t actually measure 1 tablespoon, but just estimate.

To really save money you can buy vinegar and baking soda in bulk at warehouse clubs. I have a 15lb. bag of baking soda!

WARNING: Be prepared for a week to 10 days of crazy hair. Shampoos strip away your scalps oil, causing it to produce more. While your head adjusts to your new cleansing routine, there will be a few days of crazy, frizzy, and/or oily hair. So don’t start this right before a wedding or family picture! Once your head realizes that it doesn’t need so much oil, things will level out and your hair will start having shine and strength you never had before. Try to avoid styling products the first week or two (invest in a good ball cap!).

Our kids use this too. First Born has always had dry scalp. When she started using baking soda and vinegar her dry, itchy scalp cleared up and no more flakes were seen. She briefly went back to shampoos when we moved back to the US because there were so many available but decided to turn back to this routine because her hair was healthier and it eliminated her dry scalp problem.

3 thoughts on “No-Poo: Alternative to Traditional Shampoo

  1. Has anyone used no-poo with colored or permed hair? Just wondering if there are any first-hand stories out there, good OR bad . . .

    • I have not used it with a perm (because my hair is naturally curly) but we have used it with various colored hair (include my daughter’s blue hair with pink stripes!). The baking soda doesn’t seem to have any negative effect, but I would suggest that you not use the vinegar rinse until your color is completely set, usually 7-10 days after the initial coloring. Then you may want to ease back into the vinegar, using a 1/2 teaspoon per cup of water initially.

      • Thank you! Glad to hear it was okay with your daughter’s hair – so funny LOL.

        I am also in need of a cut.

        I don’t know if I’m brave enough to experiment with permed hair, LOL. But would like to try no-poo.

Leave a Reply

