Money Saving Idea: Make Your Own Fabric Softener

When I started making my own laundry soap clothes were so soft that I didn’t need a fabric softener. Now that we have added line-drying clothes inside to our laundry routine, things can get a bit crunchy. We have been remedying this by throwing things in the dryer for 10 minutes once they had dried on the line to fluff the crunch out of them. If you are able to line-dry outside in the sun then this is probably not an issue for you, but right now we don’t have that luxury (yes, I just called using a clothesline a luxury!).  I am trying a new method…making my own fabric softener.

There are many recipes out there for making your own fabric softener. Some people swear by vinegar alone. Others say baking soda or washing soda alone. I am taking a different approach…mixing the two. Before all you science people get up in arms, yes I know that mixing an acid (vinegar) and a base (soda) will neutralize the pH. But I am not worried about the pH for this. I am actually making a salt (not table salt, but a salt none the less) and that is what will soften the clothes. This is much like the idea of the salt that is added to a water softener to make “soft” water.  Here is the recipe that I have decided to use:

  • 1 cup baking soda
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 6 cups vinegar
  • 6 additional cups of water

Pour baking soda into a large bucket. Add 1 cup cold water and dissolve soda. Pour in 6 cups of vinegar. The mixture will bubble and foam. This is the chemical reaction that will cause the salt to form. Stir in 6 more cups of water. You can add 5-10 drops of essential oils for fragrance but know that the vinegar smell will not remain in your clothes, so you don’t have to worry about covering it up.

Pour the mixture into storage containers (I re-use coffee creamer bottles). Shake before each use. Use 1 cup per load.

Do you have a recipe for homemade fabric softener? Share it in Submit Your Tip!

3 thoughts on “Money Saving Idea: Make Your Own Fabric Softener

    • I am not sure as every HE washer has different qualifications. I would not recommend using it in the fabric softener dispenser of most HE washers as the solution becomes a salt and can form crystals.

  1. Pingback: Room-by-Room Organization: Laundry Room | The Organized Wife

Leave a Reply

